Views:

When allocating a course to a learner, you have the option to set a deadline, so the training is completed within a certain length of time. Along with this, you can set reminders to prompt your learner to complete the training if it is outstanding.

Adding an absolute deadline to a course and setting reminders

If a course needs to be completed by a certain date in the future, select this option to add a date deadline and set reminders.

Select Allocations and select the course that you would like to allocate. Select Add Allocations and choose the learner/s that you would like to give the course to and select Next. To add a deadline, select Absolute Deadline and a calendar will appear below. Choose the deadline date and time. If you would like to set a reminder, select Add Reminder below the deadline date. Fill in the amount of time before the deadline you would like the notification to appear. The default will set the minutes, so you will need to change this to hours, days or weeks, whichever is most applicable to you. Then fill in the Reminder Message with what you would like the notification to say. You then have the option to Send as Email. We recommend selecting this option if you are setting the reminder, otherwise it will only show as a notification within the platform and will only be seen when the learner next logs into their account. Sending it as an email ensures that they receive the reminder to the email address that their account is registered with.

You can add as many reminders to a course as you please. If the learner doesn’t complete the course within the deadline that you set, it will flag in red on their account that the course is overdue. They will still have full access to the course, but as an administrator you can see that they haven’t completed it in the allotted time.

Once you are happy with your options, scroll to the bottom of the pop-up box and select Confirm.

Adding a relative deadline to a course and setting reminders

If you would like a course to be completed by a set time after it has been allocated onto a learner account, select this option to add the time length and set reminders.

Select Allocations and select the course that you would like to allocate. Select Add Allocations and choose the learner/s that you would like to give the course to and select Next. To add a deadline, select Relative Deadline and choose the amount of time you wish to give a learner to complete the course. The default is set to days, but you can change this to weeks, months or years. If you would like to set a reminder, select Add Reminder below the deadline date. Fill in the amount of time before the deadline you would like the notification to appear. The default will set the minutes, so you will need to change this to hours, days or weeks, whichever is most applicable to you. Then fill in the Reminder Message with what you would like the notification to say. You then have the option to Send as Email. We recommend selecting this option if you are setting the reminder, otherwise it will only show as a notification within the platform and will only be seen when the learner next logs into their account. Sending it as an email ensures that they receive the reminder to the email address that their account is registered with.


You can add as many reminders to a course as you please. If the learner doesn’t complete the course within the deadline that you set, it will flag in red on their account that the course is overdue. They will still have full access to the course, but as an administrator you can see that they haven’t completed it in the allotted time.

Once you are happy with your options, scroll to the bottom of the pop-up box and select Confirm.

Changing a deadline date

Once you have set a deadline for your course, it is possible to change it to a different date if you wish. Select Allocations and the course that you have allocated to a user. Select the tick box on the left-hand side of the learner that you would like to change the deadline date for and the option to Update Deadline Date. Set the date as before and select Save.